Lucy’s First Birthday

This past Saturday I was a Pinterest Mom. It was Lucy’s 1st birthday, and I wanted her to have a book themed party. I made a bunch of stuff out of a ripped up book. I think I did a pretty good job…I don’t think I will end up on a Pinterest Fail website.

DSC01099

Birthday food…with GREEN EGGS AND HAM

DSC01100

Green Eggs and Ham

DSC01098

Daisies

DSC01097

Smash cake on a book page cake stand

DSC01096

Book pinwheels and tissue paper flowers

DSC01095

Book page birthday banner

DSC01094

Everything

Everyone brought lots and lots of books for Lucy and she LOVES books. I almost regret having people bring books, because that’s all she wants to do. I can only read “If I Was a Giraffe” so many times.

But instead of focusing on all the preparations, cake, balloons, etc. I tried my best to focus on Lucy. Not Lucy growing up. Not me surviving my first year of parenting. Just Lucy. She is beautiful, smart, sweet, strong-willed, and perfectly created to be my daughter.

Over the past few weeks, I have been struggling with the idea of idols (sorry, I’m going to get deep on you guys). As a stay at home mom, I think it is easy to make your kids your idol. It literally is your life. Your job is your kids. Your home is your kids. Your thoughts are your kids. This year, I have definitely caught myself putting Lucy before myself, my husband, my friends, my church, my God.

On the morning of the party, something hit me. LUCY IS NOT MINE. I have been blessed with the privilege to take care of her. She is part of a bigger picture…a bigger story. I am so excited to see what this story becomes. I cannot wait to see what God has in store for her and how He will continue to use her.

Leave a Reply

